Sharing my thoughts, experiences, and special moments with you!

In the Philippines! (day 7 – part 2)

My first impression of Cebu was totally different than what I saw when I landed.   Unlike Manila, Cebu is still lacks infrastructure and is still very rural.  

 

My heart really broke when I saw people lined up on the side of the streets working in the trenches in little shops with limited electricity and no air conditioning.  Let me remind you that it is about 100 degrees outside and sunny.  =(  I must say it was a total culture shock to see so many people living in extreme poverty.  I mean, this is like 10 times worst than Compton.  And, to make things worst, the wealthy here live in houses that put Newport Beach to shame.  

 

However, I must give credit to the beautiful dressmaker’s in Cebu and the massive “Irvine Spectrum” like shopping/restaurant plazas.  Did you know world famous designer Monique Lhuillier is from Cebu?

 

Anyhow, here  is where I went on my first day in Cebu.  The Terraces, which features 37 new restaurants and even Starbucks!

Cafe Laguna features local specialties like cripsy prata, sauteed squid, fresh green mango shake, and four seasons drink!

Cafe Laguna

Cafe Laguna

dinner rush @ cafe laguna

dinner rush @ cafe laguna

 

Front pic of The Terraces Plaza

Front pic of The Terraces Plaza

 

Inside pic of The Terraces

Inside pic of The Terraces

 

Coffee Bean!!

Coffee Bean!!

One response

  1. misscakeface

    glad you’re still having fun babe!! btw- i posted a pic of my bratty dog on my personal blog (i revamped my wordpress blog for my personal stuff – no more xanga).

    January 7, 2009 at 6:47 am

Leave a Reply

